Need a Plan

So I’ve been doing pretty well with not eating meat for a bit now. Surprisingly I haven’t had cravings .  It helps too that I work at a university and the dining halls have lots of choices of foods and also vegan stations – so this is quite helpful during the day while I’m at work.

At home it’s been going pretty good too. My youngest son is aware that I’m on this exploration journey with eating and he’s been curious about it and we’ve had some topic discussions. Yet right now my refrigerator is pretty much empty at the moment, with the exception of a bunch of fresh cilantro, a green pepper, bag of whole carrots and a couple of other random things.  So I find myself thinking, what to eat/buy/prepare/etc next?  Besides eating to alleviate hunger where will I get adequate protein, calcium, iron, etc. I feel some sort of plan is in order – – yet my day today is pretty darn full at the moment.

I did try a recipe recently – – – a warm black eyed pea salad with a homemade dressing and that was pretty good. But that is since gone.  What to buy now for food?  What are some good and quick staples to have on hand at home?  These are the things that I’ll need to play around with!

Tonight I’m picking up the DVD, “Forks Over Knives” at the bookstore and hope to view it with my son tonight (check the website for the trailer). I was thinking I could stop at Chipotle and pick up a couple burritos for my boy and I – – then I wondered, my son likes the pork burrito; do I get him one or another without the meat?  I don’t want to force my eating choices on him but I wonder if he’d feel bad that I got it for him since he knows I’m not eating meat . . .  ahh, this too is part of the journey…considering all the questions.  I’ll figure it out! 

Take away for today: a plan of action seems to be a good course of action; just keep moving forward – and for this week I’ll start with setting a couple simple goals:
1. Determine some simple staples to get and have on hand that are plant-based and desirable to anyone in my home.
2. Review some cookbooks for some things to try this week.
3. Get some feedback from friends who have some plant-based cooking and staples tips!!!!!

Peace all,
Rochelle

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindsay / happy herbivore
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 19:12:30

    I have transitioning plans on HH that might help:
    http://happyherbivore.com/2011/08/how-become-a-vegetarian/

    plus these 10 tips
    http://happyherbivore.com/2010/02/top-10-go-vegan-tips/

    and of course there is always the HH meal plan which plans it out for you!

    Reply

  2. Really!?
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 21:32:51

    That black pea thing sounded awful…gotta be honest. 🙂

    Reply

    • takeawayfortoday
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 01:36:47

      Ha! Lori – – – actually it was black eyed peas . . . may sound worse than it is? Was pretty tasty and colorful too. Actually if you’re interested, google images for “black eyed pea salad with cilantro” to get a better view – – – but that’s ok if it doesn’t appeal !

      Reply

Leave a Reply

