My goal: TRIATHLON

So it’s 2012 – I’ve decided for my goal this year it’s going to be to train for and complete at least 1 triathlon. I’ve done the biking before, I’ve done at least some jogging, I know how to swim . . . so why not?  Well, I must say this triathlon idea kind of came out of left field for me. Yes, I’ve been pretty active (doing Insanity and other home based interval conditioning programs), completed the Couch to 5K training program last spring (highly recommended!) and completed 2 Warrior Dash races. But I’ve never done everything together in one event!

Well I’m one to give myself a challenge to reach – and I love the physical ones. A couple years ago I decided to buy a road bike and get into that. I found a great group of folks locally (Gus Bike Shop) and weekly women’s group rides in the summer – I completed a 50 mile ride event and the next summer completed a 100 mile ride. So now the challenge – conditioning with swimming, group swimming, transitioning from one to the other in the same event and proper sport nutrition – vegetarian style. Since deciding to do this goal I’ve made some great connections – found a local triathlon club, met some like minded folks, signed up for some Master Swim classes, found some great vegetarian sports nutrition connections and more. I love learning all these new things!

While I’m still in my 40’s I know I’m not getting any younger!  The more the years are blessed on me the more grateful I am for what I’ve had and what I still could do if I just choose to do so. I lost my Dad less than a year ago.  It’s all got me thinking how important it is to embrace life and all the gifts in it; to do your best with what you have now, and to keep a positive outlook. THIS is one of the biggest reasons I’ve decided to take on this triathlon challenge, and I do this in honor of my Dad!  So here goes the learning, the challenge, the courage and the fun. This is going to be awesome.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jacquie
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 01:31:13

    You will be awesome!

    Reply

  2. eatingRD
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 20:08:35

    Good luck on your first tri training, it will be awesome!!! I would like to do a tri someday, but I’m not so good at the swimming part 🙂

    Reply

    • takeawayfortoday
      Jan 18, 2012 @ 20:14:58

      Thank you Kristen – I will agree with you about the swimming part: it’s one thing to know how to swim, it’s another to swim for a long distance! I started a Master Swim course and the first class has shown me I have potential with this type of conditioning! It will be good to add this conditioning to my training schedule. This is why I’m doing it – because I’ve never done such a thing before and I know that with practice I will be in a better position to achieve this goal. So I say to you, go for it! It all starts with making at least one decision and taking action, step by step!

      Reply

  3. specialkphd
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 12:01:19

    Oh my word! I just found your site and love your enthusiasm. I think health is just that: constantly growing and reaching and searching to be authentically HERE. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  4. diary of a dashinista
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 20:11:30

    Such a fabulous goal and I love your enthusiasm! I’m starting to think about trying a tri, but I’m slightly scared of the swimming part. I think my goal for this year might be to take part in an open water swim even before I commit to triathlon. But I’m looking forward to reading more about your training progress 🙂

    Reply

    • takeawayfortoday
      Apr 09, 2012 @ 20:33:22

      The swim part is my issue as well, especially the idea of an open water swim where I can’t put my feet on the bottom nor grab the side of a pool! I’ve never done a distance swim. But this is the challenge, and part of what I’ve done in these past couple months is:
      1. I joined a local triathlon club. Great support, programs, contacts.
      2. I joined the club’s 8 week master swim course – it taught me swim drills, got me in the water and, with practice comes familiarity . . . and the last session we did some simulations for open water/cluster group swims – that was helpful. I still have not done open water yet but it’s part of the training. Next on the list is to get myself a wet suit. And in our climate it’s still quite cold (water temp) but next on the training agenda will be to do some open water swims with some of the club members.
      Oftentimes part of goal achievement is taking some new steps never taken before – and this is a good example. I’ve given myself plenty of time and space to get my feet wet with the variety of training. Some of it is all new, and a bit scary. But I won’t know unless I take that first try. Good luck to you and thank you for your feedback!!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

